Summer Capital of Comval
Quick Facts PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 22
Written by Alicia M. Graciadas   
Tuesday, 19 April 2011

Location:                                Located at southeastern part of Mindanao Island and north-central part of Region XI. It is bounded by Agusan del Sur on the north, Davao Oriental on the east and south, Island Garden City of Samal on the southwest and Davao del Norte on the west and northwestern part.

Capital:                                     Nabunturan

Congressional District:        A total of eleven (11) municipalities are group into two (2)

 legislative districts:

District ICompostela, Maragusan, Monkayo, Montevista,

and New Bataan;

District IILaak, Mabini, Maco, Mawab, Nabunturan, and


Municipalities:                       11

Total No. of Barangays:       237 official barangays

Total Land Area:                   4 666.93 sq kms

A&D                1 530.97 sq kms

Forest             3 135.96 sq kms

Classification:                       First Class Province

Annual Income:                     P 697, 328, 056.82 (CY 2006)

Major Economic Act:         Agriculture (about 30.70% of the total land area has been utilized for agriculture).

Major crops:                       rice; corn; industrial and commercial crops such as coconut, coffee, abaca and rubber; fruit crops like banana, mango, pineapple, durian, calamansi, mandarin, and lanzones; and vegetable crops including root crops and tubers.                  

Geography:                          The province lies in the mid – eastern portion of Mindanao Island, approximately within 125°40’ east longitude and 7°4’ to 8°00’ north latitude. It is bounded by Agusan del Sur on the North. Davao Oriental on the East and South, Davao Gulf on the Southwest, and Davao del Norte on the West and Northwestern portion

Topography:                          Flat, Rolling, Hilly and Mountainous

Hydrology:                             47 Rivers, 4 Lakes, 302 Cold Springs, 115 Creeks, 8 Hot Springs

Population:                            637 366 as of 2007

Annual Growth Rate:           1.30% 2007 census

Languages/Dialects:           Cebuano/Bisaya the most spoken dialect

Climate:                                  Generally tropical with no marked rainy or dry season with average temperature of 28.2 degrees Celsius

Rainfall:                                  The rainy season is most likely to occur between May – January of the following year, with pronounced maximum rainfall from October – December. The dry season from February – April.


Total Population:                  637, 366 (2007 POPCEN), Southern Mindanao (Region XI)’s total population of 5, 189, 335.

Mineral Resources:            Gold and Copper. Other mineral resources include sand and gravel, marble, limestone, silica, clay, and shade.


Commercial:                          9 314

Industrial/ Manufacturing:  1 015


Financial Systems:           4 Commercial Banks, 8 Rural Banks, 5 Cooperative Banks, 32 Lending Institutions, 28 Pawnshops, 6 Insurance Services Entity

Road Network

National:                                260.6160 kms

Provincial:                             841.7500 kms

Municipal:                              230.1660 kms

Barangay:                              2 056.6865 kms

Power:                                  Electricity is served by Davao del Norte Electric Cooperative whose power comes from the National Power Corporation.

Transportation:                   Public Utility Buses, Vans and Jeepneys play the inter-municipal routes.

Motorcycle is the means of transportation in remote barangays and rugged terrain. The province avails sea and air transport services from Davao City.

Communication Services:   The Province has good receptions to AM and FM stations based in Davao City, Metro Manila and in other Provinces. Local and international television channels can also be accessed via sky cable. Public calling stations provided by the PLDT, PY&T, PhilCom and cell sites like Smart and Globe are available in the province. The Philippine Postal Corporation has installed its postal services in every municipality. Cargo forwarders like LBC are present in most municipalities and newspapers both local and national, are circulated in the province. Also, the DOTC has established its provincial office in Nabunturan and has already extended telephone services in the municipalities of Nabunturan, Maco and Pantukan.